You are here

Welcome & Reference Resources

Welcome

The purpose of this guide is to recommend print and electronic resources for conducting research in Environmental Studies at Laurentian University. Click on the tabs above to see a variety of research resources that are available.

I am available to assist you in your research throughout the academic year.  Please e-mail me to set up a date and time.

New books

View the list of new books purchased or on order for the program.

Dictionaries

Historical Dictionary of Environmentalism. 2007. Print.

McGraw Hill Dictionary of Environmental Science. 2003. Online.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Environment and Society. 2007. Online & Print.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy. 2009. Print.

Encyclopedia of Global Change. 2002. Online & Print.

Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change. 2002. Online.

Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change. 2012. Online.

Encyclopedia of World Environmental History. 2004. Print.


Topic: Environmental Science. AccessScience. Online

Guides

Green Politics: An A to Z Guide. 2010. Online.

Liaison Librarian

Alain Lamothe

Email: alamothe@laurentian.ca

Phone: (705) 675-1151 x3304

Office: JND Library, room 30-253

Style manual

Making sense : a student's guide to research and writing. 5th ed. 2012. Print.

Created for students in Geography and Environmental Sciences. Recommended for writing essays and reports, as well as the documentation of sources.

More Help

In the library: The Library User Assistance Desk to your immediate left as you enter the library is a good place to start.

By email: Email the librarian responsible for your faculty for a reply during regular working hours.

By telephone: 705-675-4803, or toll free at 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2

By chat: With our "Ask the Library" service. For more information, see About Ask a Librarian.

For Distance Education students: Telephone: 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2 or email: Distance_l@laurentian.ca

Get Books and Theses

Why Use Books

  • Books are extremely valuable resources when doing in-depth research on a topic! Authors have hundreds of pages to give detailed explanations and background information surrounding the various facets of your research interest.
  • Using this kind of in-depth information will make it easier to form a research question or thesis statement (or even spark your inspiration).
  • The bibliographies found in books are extensive, and will point you to other resources to add to your own resource list.
  • Remember: scholars write journal articles under the assumption that you already have a relatively thorough understanding of the topic – this means that you will likely not find the foundational information needed for your topic in the beginning stages of your research process. In this sense, books become indispensable.

Searching the Catalogue

The catalogue is your primary tool for finding books in the J.N. Desmarais Library. You can also use the catalogue to find other materials, including government publications and journals (the journals themselves--not individual articles).

You can search the catalogue by:

  • Keyword
  • Title
  • Author
  • Subject
  • Journal Title

When you know the book you are searching for, pick Title or Author; when you are searching for a topic, start with Keyword unless you know the exact Subject heading describing your topic.

More on searching the Catalogue is available in Module 5 of the Research Skills Tutorial in D2L.

WorldCat

With nearly 200 million records representing titles held by nearly 75,000 libraries you will find almost any book ever published in the English language in WorldCat.
Search Tips:  Once you log-in, click on the Help Button: Help button
After your search, when you see a title that interests you, click on it and within the record you will see an image for "Get it @ Laurentian" :
   Get it @ Laurentian
When you click on that, you will be led to a menu which allows you to check for availability in Laurentian’s catalogue or order the item through ILL - Interlibrary Loan.
Note: While a free version of WorldCat is available online, we recommend that you use the university's subscription version of WorldCat because it offers the "Get it @ Laurentian" feature and more powerful search functionality.

E-Books

E-books are located in two different places:
  • Some may be located by using the library’s catalogue and selecting "Electronic" item form. These records will have[electronic resource] in the title.
  • E-books can also be located by searching in e-book collections. Searching in these collections is the same as searching in a database.

Theses

In addition to books, you may wish to search for book-length Master's theses or Ph.D dissertations.

Best bet: Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest).

If you are also looking for recent theses or dissertations produced by Laurentian graduates, check out our Research RepositoryLUZONE.  Note that since 2013, before graduation all Masters and Doctoral candidates MUST deposit their theses or dissertations in this repository.

Get Articles

Articles: Quick Tips

The databases to the right provide references to many scholarly journal articles and papers.

  1. Start off with keyword searches expressing your topic. Keyword searching crosses all fields.
  2. Use Search Operators such as "OR" and "AND" to expand or reduce your results.
  3. Review those items that look relevant, then, exploit the details within those entries to help lead you to other relevant articles.
    • Pay attention to the subject headings (often called "descriptors") to see how the database describes your topic and use them to find related articles.
    • Find other papers written by the same author; these will typically be on similar subjects.
    • Follow citation trails: other articles that have cited this article will probably be on a related subject and will include citations to other articles of interest.
  4. For more Secrets of Searching a Database, review that section in How to Research Like a Librarian.

Peer Review

Peer Review is the evaluation of creative work by scholars in the same field in order to maintain or enhance the quality of the work in that field. In the case of peer reviewed journals, which are usually academic, peer review generally refers to the evaluation of the articles in them prior to publication. 

The definition of peer review is covered in Module 1 of the Library Research Skills Tutorial.

To learn more, check out this definition of peer review. To ascertain whether a journal is peer reviewed, consult Ulrichsweb.

 

Getting Articles @ Laurentian

In any database, when you see an article that interests you, click on it and, unless the article is available within the database itself, within the record you will see an image that says "Get it @ Laurentian":

Get it at Laurentian

When you click on that,  you will arrive at a menu which will lead to an electronic copy of the article you want, or, if not available electronically, to Laurentian's catalogue which will allow you to check if the article is available in print in the library, and if not, to a final link which allows you to order the item through Interlibrary loan.

Subject Databases

  • GreenFILE ?

    Description: GreenFILE is a multidisciplinary database which relates the environment to a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. Includes more than 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records. Years covered: 1969 - present.

  • Academic OneFile ?

    Description: More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects since 1980.

  • Scholars Portal ?

    Description: Scholars Portal is a service of the Ontario Council of University Libraries. Founded in 2002, Scholars Portal provides a shared technology infrastructure and shared collections for all 21 university libraries in the province.

  • Web of Knowledge ?

    Description: A comprehensive research platform that brings together many different types of content including journal articles, patents, websites, conference proceedings, and open access material. Web of Science is located within Web of Knowledge. This resource offers access to journal articles in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science contains over 100 years of research, fully indexed and cross-searchable.

Education and the Environment

  • ERIC (ProQuest) ?

    Description: ERIC provides education research literature (in the context of the North American educational system) to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. ERIC includes journal articles, conference proceedings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books. Coverage starts in 1966.

  • PsycINFO ?

    Description: PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.

Health and the Environment

  • CINAHL ?

    Description: CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides indexing for more than 2,980 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 2,000,000 records dating back to 1981.

  • Medline (Ovid) ?

    Description: The latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 5,500 biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages.

  • ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source ?

    Description: Health care information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine. Includes over 890 full-text journals and 12,300 full-text dissertations.

  • PubMed ?

    Description: PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

  • NOSM: Health Information Resource Centre Databases ?

    Description: The Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) collection of health-related research resources is available to the Laurentian University community. The NOSM collection includes resources that are not part of the Laurentian University collection.

  • PsycINFO ?

    Description: PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.

Some Related Databases

  • SPORTDiscus ?

    Description: Covers all subjects related to sports, including kinesiology, sport administration, sport psychology, education, coaching, nutrition, public heath, rehabilitation, and therapy. Access is limited to 4 concurrent users.

Get Related Resources & Organizations

Multidisciplinary Resources

  • Academic OneFile ?

    Description: More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects since 1980.

  • Canadian Newsstand Major Dailies ?

    Description: Includes national and leading regional papers such as National Post, Calgary Herald, Edmonton Journal, Montreal Gazette, Ottawa Citizen, Regina Leader Post, Vancouver Sun and the Victoria Times-Colonist.

  • Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest) ?

    Description: "The world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT — Full Text includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works." -- publisher's info.

  • ETDEWEB ?

    Description: The gateway to energy technology discoveries, ETDEWEB includes information on energy R&D; energy policy and planning; basic sciences (e.g., physics, chemistry and biomedical) and materials research; the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy conservation; nuclear (e.g., reactors, isotopes, waste management); coal and fossil fuels; renewable energy technologies (e.g., solar, wind, biomass, geothermal, hydro.

  • JSTOR ?

    Description: JSTOR includes the archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. Note: Normally the journals in JSTOR are five years from current; further, all JSTOR journals are available through the "Get it @ Laurentian" link from other databases. JSTOR should NOT be used as at the first resort.

  • Scholars Portal - Ejournals ?

    Description: Scholars Portal is a digital repository of over 20 million scholarly articles drawn from journals covering every academic discipline.

  • PAIS International ?

    Description: Covers public and social policy and the social sciences in general. Indexes journal articles, books, government documents (with emphasis on Canada, the U.S., and the United Nations), statistical compilations, committee reports, and directories. Includes: PAISArchive 1915-1976 & PAIS International from 1972 to the present.

  • Population Index ?

    Description: The primary reference tool to the world's population literature, Population Index presents an annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics. The website contains 46,035 abstracts of demographic literature published in the period 1986-2000.

  • Web of Knowledge ?

    Description: A comprehensive research platform that brings together many different types of content including journal articles, patents, websites, conference proceedings, and open access material. Web of Science is located within Web of Knowledge. This resource offers access to journal articles in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science contains over 100 years of research, fully indexed and cross-searchable.

  • WorldCat ?

    Description: The world's largest database of library collections in North America and abroad, including Laurentian's.

Research Groups & Resources

Arctic Science and Technology Information System (ASTIS)
"Covers all aspects of northern Canada, including the earth sciences, the life sciences, engineering and technology, renewable and non-renewable resources, co-management, politics and government, economic and social conditions, land use, indigenous peoples, archaeology, history, art and literature."

Canadian Coalition on Acid Rain
Information on the Canadian Coalition on Acid Rain as well as its archives, donated to the University of Waterloo Library in 1995.

Consortium on Regional Climatology and Adaptation to Climate Change (OURANOS)
Brings together 400 scientists and professionals from different disciplines who examine two principal themes: climate sciences and impacts & adaptation.

CRC for Water Sensitive Cities (Australia). Research group on issues of urban water management in Australia and abroad.

Great Lakes Environmental Assessment and Mapping (GLEAM) Project
Integrates spatial information for environmental management decisions in the Great Lakes. Published by the University of Michigan.

Network in Canadian History & Environment (NICHE)
"Brings together historians, geographers, and other researchers who study nature and humans in Canada's past. We offer a forum for the field, support collaboration among scholars, and ensure that this research is shared with policymakers, scientists, and the Canadian public."

International Organizations

The Encyclopedia of Earth.
Supported by the Environmental Information Coalition and the National Council for Science and the Environment.

Living Planet Report.
Published by the World Wildlife Fund.

Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change.
Reports and technical papers on various international aspects of climate change.

Citing Sources

Why Cite?

We cite sources to acknowledge the work of others, as well as to avoid academic dishonesty or plagiarism.

The University of Toronto has made available a comprehensive set of guidelines on How NOT to Plagiarize, which deserves to be read by every student

Citation Management Tools

On August 15, 2015, Laurentian University ended its subscription to RefWorks. If you already have a RefWorks account, you should still be able to access it in order to export your citations.

To learn about alternative citation management tools, including free ones, please consult the Managing Citations research guide.

Citation Styles in Laurentian's Environmental Studies Program

At Laurentian, professors will specify the citation style to be used. In Environmental Studies, it is normally APA. To learn more about the APA and other citation styles, consult Laurentian's guide to citation styles.

Style Manual

Making sense : a student's guide to research and writing. 5th ed. 2012. Print.

Created for students in Geography and Environmental Sciences. Recommended for writing essays and reports, as well as the documentation of sources.