You are here

Home

Jump Start

Off-Campus Connection

Most of the Library's online resources are available to you from anywhere off campus.

See UL Proxy Accounts for more information.

Welcome

This guide recommends key resources for finding and using information while conducting research in French Studies.  

Organizing your search for information:

  1. Prepare your research!
  2. Choose your sources
  3. Consult the catalogue
  4. and/ or consult databases
  5. Find and organize your references
  6. Evaluate the references
  7. Present the references in your work

Subject Librarian

DMaley's picture
Name: Desmond Maley
Position Title: Associate Librarian
Email Address: dmaley@laurentian.ca
Extension: 3323
Office Location: 30-246, J.-N. Desmarais Library

More Help

In the library: The Library User Assistance Desk to your immediate left as you enter the library is a good place to start.

By email: Email the librarian responsible for your faculty for a reply during regular working hours.

By telephone: 705-675-4803, or toll free at 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2

By chat: With our "Ask the Library" service. For more information, see About Ask a Librarian.

For Distance Education students: Telephone: 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2 or email: Distance_l@laurentian.ca

Get Started

Encyclopædia Universalis

Encyclopædia Universalis 

  • Multi-disciplinary francophone resource
  • Navigate through the sections (particularly humanities and social sciences) or research your subject (ex. adolescence, community, etc).

Quick Tips on Preparing For Research

Before you start:

Understand the key terms you may be using as well as the general area that interests you;

Think about ways to narrow your topic, making it as specific as possible (unless you have been given a specific topic to research);

Create a thesis statement.

  • Choose and shape you topic, using:
  • Language dictionaries
  • Subject-specific dictionaries
  • General and subject-specific encyclopedias
  • Thesauri for your discipline (often related to a database)
  • To narrow your topic, ask the 5 W's and how questions:
  • Who? What? When? Where? Why? How?
  • Choose your concepts and your limiters:
  • Which terms are related to your subject?
  • What are its synonyms?  
  • Which terms should be excluded from your research project?
  • Having a list of concepts and limits prepared will facilitate your research.
  • Depending on the language of the resources, create a list of terms in both French and English.    

Get Books

Organization of the Library’s Collection

The Library of Congress Classification System is used to organize:

  • Periodicals (PER - 2nd floor)
  • Reference documents (REF - 2nd flood)
  • Books (3rd floor)

Documents for your discipline are generally found in the following classes:

P 40-381 : Linguistics

PC 2001-3761 : French language

PN : Literature (General)- Literary history

PQ 1-3999 : French Literature

PS 8401 - 8599 : Quebec and French-Canadian literature

WorldCat

With nearly 200 million records representing titles held by nearly 75,000 libraries you will find almost any book ever published in the English language in WorldCat.
Search Tips:  Once you log-in, click on the Help Button: Help button
After your search, when you see a title that interests you, click on it and within the record you will see an image for "Get it @ Laurentian" :
   Get it @ Laurentian
When you click on that, you will be led to a menu which allows you to check for availability in Laurentian’s catalogue or order the item through ILL - Interlibrary Loan.
Note: While a free version of WorldCat is available online, we recommend that you use the university's subscription version of WorldCat because it offers the "Get it @ Laurentian" feature and more powerful search functionality.

The Catalogue

The catalogue is your primary tool for finding:

  • Books (in print and online)
  • Official publications
  • Reference works (dictionaries, encyclopedias)
  • Titles of journals (and not titles of articles from those journals)
  • Documents from the Archives
  • Videos (DVD’s and online)
  • Documents on microfilm

present in our print and online collections (from the J.N. Desmarais Library., but also from other campus libraries and resources centres).

The interface of the catalogue is available in French and in English.

The French titles are indexed in French and the English titles are indexed in English. Bilingual documents are indexed in both languages.

Under the advanced search tab, it is possible to add language filters, which will only retrieve documents in the language selected.

More on searching the Catalogue is available in Module 5 of the Research Skills Tutorial on D2L.

E-book Collections

Not all e-books are indicated in the catalogue. You can equally find them through our Electronic Book Collections.

The following collections contain e-books relevant to linguistics and literature:

See also :

Inter-Library Loans

The inter-library loans system, RACER, allows you to borrow documents and obtain articles from other libraries across Canada and from around the world.  

Fill out this form to register for the service.

Get Articles

Getting Articles @ Laurentian

In any database, when you see an article that interests you, click on it and, unless the article is available within the database itself, within the record you will see an image that says "Get it @ Laurentian":

Get it at Laurentian

When you click on that,  you will arrive at a menu which will lead to an electronic copy of the article you want, or, if not available electronically, to Laurentian's catalogue which will allow you to check if the article is available in print in the library, and if not, to a final link which allows you to order the item through Interlibrary loan.

Subject Databases

  • ERIC (ProQuest) ?

    Description: ERIC provides education research literature (in the context of the North American educational system) to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research. ERIC includes journal articles, conference proceedings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, and books. Coverage starts in 1966.

  • MLA International Bibliography ?

    Description: Covers literature from all over the world--Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. Since 1926.

Recommended Databases

  • ARTFL (American Research on the Treasury of the French Language) Project ?

    Description: ARTFL Project is a consortium-based service that provides its members with access to North America's largest collection of digitized French resources. Along with ARTFL's flagship database ARTFL-FRANTEXT, ARTFL members are also given access to a large variety of other Subscriber Databases. ARTFL also supports many Public Access databases including the Dictionnaires d'autrefois, the Encyclopédie of Diderot and d'Alembert, and the Bibliothèque Bleue de Troyes.

  • Arts & Humanities Citation Index ?

    Description: Fully indexes over 1,700 arts and humanities journals, as well as selected items over 250 scientific and social sciences journals — from 1975 to present. Covering subjects that include archaeology, art, architecture, asian studies, classics, dance, folklore, history, language, linguistics, literary reviews, literature, music, philosophy, poetry, radio, television, & film, religion and theatre.

  • Cairn ?

    Description: European French-language database with over 200 full-text journals in the humanities and social sciences.

  • Érudit ?

    Description: Canadian French-language database with over 100 full-text journals in the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences. Also contains nearly 20 French-language e-books.

  • FRANCIS ?

    Description: Multilingual social sciences and humanities database. English and French searching options available.

  • French 17 ?

    Description: French 17 seeks to provide an annual survey of the work done each year in the general area of seventeenth-century French studies. It is as descriptive and complete as possible and includes summaries of articles, books, and book reviews. An item may be included in several numbers should a review of that item appear in subsequent years. French 17 lists not only works dealing with literary history and criticism, but also those which treat bibliography, linguistics and language, politics, society, philosophy, science, religion and the arts.

  • Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 ?

    Description: Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective™: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.

  • JSTOR ?

    Description: JSTOR includes the archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. The entire corpus is full-text searchable, offers search term highlighting, includes high-quality images, and is interlinked by millions of citations and references. Note: Normally the journals in JSTOR are five years from current; further, all JSTOR journals are available through the "Get it @ Laurentian" link from other databases. JSTOR should NOT be used as at the first resort.

  • Literature Resource Center ?

    Description: Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

  • Web of Knowledge ?

    Description: A comprehensive research platform that brings together many different types of content including journal articles, patents, websites, conference proceedings, and open access material. Web of Science is located within Web of Knowledge. This resource offers access to journal articles in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science contains over 100 years of research, fully indexed and cross-searchable.

French Databases

  • Cairn ?

    Description: European French-language database with over 200 full-text journals in the humanities and social sciences.

  • Érudit ?

    Description: Canadian French-language database with over 100 full-text journals in the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences. Also contains nearly 20 French-language e-books.

  • FRANCIS ?

    Description: Multilingual social sciences and humanities database. English and French searching options available.

  • ISIDORE ?

    Description: ISIDORE is a platform of search allowing the access to digital data of Humanities and Social Sciences. Open to all and especially to teachers, researchers, PhD students, and students, it relies on the principles of Web of data and provides access to data in free access (open access).

  • Persée ?

    Description: European French-language humanities and social sciences database. Can also be accessed through Érudit (include in search parameters during search).

  • Revues.org ?

    Description: European French-language database with more than 200 full-text journals in the humanities and social sciences.

  • Eureka (Biblio Branchée) ?

    Description: Canadian French-language database containing more than 5000 reliable and pertinent news sources covering international, national, regional and local news.

Quick Tips

In order to find articles from scholarly journals, use the databases.

The majority of the databases include access to the full text of articles.

Note that for a number of databases, you will need to login via the proxy server using your LaurentianID in order to access the resources off-campus.

  • Start your research by using keywords that express your topic.
  • Use boolean operateurs (AND, OR, NOT) to expand or reduce the number of results.

To broaden the number of results:

To narrow the number of results:

  • Explore the bibliographic records of results in order to find more relevant articles.  

Journals for French Studies

Journals relating to French studies are listed throughout the catalogue with the subject "Littérature française périodiques", and the subject "Langue française périodiques".

Journals in English are listed with the  subject "French literature Periodicals", and the subject "French language Periodicals".

There are also printed journals as well as electronic journals.

E-Journals

Electronic journals in language and linguistics, and in literature are listed through the list A to Z E-Journals. You may search for a specific title in the list, which will permit you to access the full text.  

Get Films

Film Collections

  • NFB (National Film Board) ?

    Description: The NFB's online Screening Room features over 3,000 films, excerpts, trailers and interactive works (including) documentaries, animation, experimental films and fiction (with a Canadian context or perspective.) Faculty can activate additional CAMPUS tools on their personal NFB account to create playlists of film snippets ("chapters") and entire films for classes; contact Desmond Maley (dmaley@laurentian.ca) for details.

  • Canadian Feature Film Database ?

    Description: The database compiles the principal credits of every Canadian feature film from 1913 to 2006, establishes a list of Canadian feature films from published information up to 2006 and features over 4,300 films.

Find Videos in the Catalogue

The catalogue is an important tool for finding videos at Laurentian.

Under the advanced search tab, it is possible to add the filter “video format”, in order to select a desired format.

You can equally browse the catalogue using the following lists:

Need a Film Not in Laurentian's Online Film Collections?

​Consult: Watmedia (Provincial Multi-media Catalogue).  Material held by Laurentian may be signed out in the library. To order a film not available at Laurentian, please email LUFilmLibrary@laurentian.ca and specify the date(s) you require the item.

Questions:  Please contact Ashley Thomson who manages the Intrafilm Project.

Citing Sources

Tips

We cite sources to acknowledge the work of others, as well as to avoid academic dishonesty or plagiarism.

  • Present your bibliography at the end of your work
  • Cite your sources while writing
  • Follow the model specified by your professor or the discipline
  • Make use of the style guide

ZOTERO

Zotero is a free, web-based citation manager that allows you to: 

  • Directly import references from article databases, the library catalogue, e-book collections, etc.
  • Manage and organize your references.
  • Create a bibliography.
  • Share your references with others
  • Add in-text citation and a bibliography directly into your assignment 

Getting started with Zotero:

Style

APA style (American Psychological Association) is the style most often used in your discipline. APA Style uses the Author-Date system: the citations in the text include the name of the author and the date.

Always follow the specification of your professors, as there can be variations, most notably, norms adopted in French.

Plagiarism and Academic Integrity at Laurentian University

Laurentian University’s policy on Academic Integrity for Students, december 2010.

See also the page dedicated to copyright at Laurentian University and module 11 from the Research Skills Tutorial on D2L.