You are here

Getting Started

Welcome

Welcome to the Physics Research Guide! Here you can find tips on how to find and use information pertaining to Physics. Please explore the links and feel free to contact us for any additional information or help using our resources.

Cite your References!

Find information on popular reference styles through our "Citation Style Guide." Remember to use the style asked for by your professor, and to check your work.

Use the online reference tool Zotero to help import, manage and export bibliographic references in various styles.

Research Aids

Database

Web of Knowledge


Ebooks and Ejournals Collections

Scholars Portal - Ebooks

Scholars Portal - Ejournals

 

Subject Librarian

Alain Lamothe
(705) 675-1151 Ext. 3304 


For Distance Education students :

Telephone : 1-800-661-1058, Ext. 2 or 705-675-1151, Ext. 3317

Fax : 705-671-3803 (Attention: Off-Campus Library Services)

Email : distance_l@laurentian.ca

Library Instruction

Basic online library instruction is available in either official language using Laurentian's Desire2Learn platform. For further information consult Ashley Thomson, ext. 3322

For special instruction in this subject during class time, ask your professor to arrange a class by contacting Mr. Lamothe, ext 3304.

For instruction on archival materials, ask your professor to arrange a class by contacting Ms. Marthe Brown, ext. 3339.

More Help

In the library: The Library User Assistance Desk to your immediate left as you enter the library is a good place to start.

By email: Email the librarian responsible for your faculty for a reply during regular working hours.

By telephone: 705-675-4803, or toll free at 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2

By chat: With our "Ask the Library" service. For more information, see About Ask a Librarian.

For Distance Education students: Telephone: 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2 or email: Distance_l@laurentian.ca

Getting Articles

Subject Databases - Physics

  • IEEE Xplore - Journals and Magazines ?

    Description: Journals and magazines from IEEE.

  • Institute of Physics (IOP) Journals
  • Web of Knowledge ?

    Description: A comprehensive research platform that brings together many different types of content including journal articles, patents, websites, conference proceedings, and open access material. Web of Science is located within Web of Knowledge. This resource offers access to journal articles in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science contains over 100 years of research, fully indexed and cross-searchable.

Theses and Dissertations

For additional information on advanced research as well as theses and dissertations, please consult our Research Guide for Advanced Studies.

Related Databases - Physics

  • Web of Knowledge ?

    Description: A comprehensive research platform that brings together many different types of content including journal articles, patents, websites, conference proceedings, and open access material. Web of Science is located within Web of Knowledge. This resource offers access to journal articles in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Web of Science contains over 100 years of research, fully indexed and cross-searchable.

Searching for Books

Searching the Catalogue

The catalogue is your primary tool for finding books in the J.N. Desmarais Library. You can also use the catalogue to find other materials, including government publications and journals (the journals themselves--not individual articles).

You can search the catalogue by:

  • Keyword
  • Title
  • Author
  • Subject
  • Journal Title

When you know the book you are searching for, pick Title or Author; when you are searching for a topic, start with Keyword unless you know the exact Subject heading describing your topic.

More on searching the Catalogue is available in Module 5 of the Research Skills Tutorial in D2L.

Additional Print Resources

  • Dictionary of Physics (2nd Floor: Ref. QC 5 C56 1996)
  • Encyclopedia of Physics (2nd Floor: Ref. QC 5 E545 1991)
  • CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics  (2nd Floor: Ref. QD 65 H3 / 3rd Floor: QD 65 H3)

Shelf Searching

Laurentian uses LC Classification. Some patrons may wish to browse for books in the stacks; Physics is classified under science (Q) and more specifically, under QC - Physics. The following are some key Physics designations:

QC 1-77 - General

QC 251-338.5 - Heat

QC 350-467 - Optics, Lights

QC 501-766 - Electricity and Magnetism

QC 770-798 - Nuclear and Particle Physics, Atomic Energy, Radioactivity

QC 811-849 - Geomagnetism

QC 851-999 - Meteorology, Climatology (including the earth's atmosphere)

WorldCat

With nearly 200 million records representing titles held by nearly 75,000 libraries you will find almost any book ever published in the English language in WorldCat.
Search Tips:  Once you log-in, click on the Help Button: Help button
After your search, when you see a title that interests you, click on it and within the record you will see an image for "Get it @ Laurentian" :
   Get it @ Laurentian
When you click on that, you will be led to a menu which allows you to check for availability in Laurentian’s catalogue or order the item through ILL - Interlibrary Loan.
Note: While a free version of WorldCat is available online, we recommend that you use the university's subscription version of WorldCat because it offers the "Get it @ Laurentian" feature and more powerful search functionality.

Getting E-books

E-books

E-books are located in two different places:
  • Some may be located by using the library’s catalogue and selecting "Electronic" item form. These records will have [electronic resource] in the title.
  • E-books can also be located by searching in e-book collections. Searching in these collections is the same as searching in a database.

Recommended E-book Collections for Physics