You are here

Politial Science - Home

New books!

Here is the list of new books that have either arrived or are on order for Political Science.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Political Science Librarian

DMaley's picture
Name: Desmond Maley
Position Title: Associate Librarian
Email Address: dmaley@laurentian.ca
Extension: 3323
Office Location: 30-246, J.-N. Desmarais Library

More Help

In the library: The Library User Assistance Desk to your immediate left as you enter the library is a good place to start.

By email: Email the librarian responsible for your faculty for a reply during regular working hours.

By telephone: 705-675-4803, or toll free at 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2

By chat: With our "Ask the Library" service. For more information, see About Ask a Librarian.

For Distance Education students: Telephone: 1-800-661-1058, ext. 2 or email: Distance_l@laurentian.ca

Get Started

Choosing and Defining a Research Topic

o Select a topic that interests you and get a brief overview starting with general reference resources (encyclopedias, bibliographies, and dictionaries)

o Get a general understanding of special terminology, major concepts, prominent figures, and experts associated with your topic

o Select key words, concepts, and themes that frequently appear in your area of study

o From these selections, begin to form a thesis statement or research question

o For each of your keywords and concepts, try to think of synonyms that you could use to start searching the catalogue and databases

o Remember that online searching is often trial and error and may take some time to refine

Related Encyclopedias for Political Science

Encyclopedia of Law and Society: American and Global Perspectives: This online encyclopedia  represents interdisciplinary perspectives on law from sociology, criminology, cultural anthropology, political science, social psychology, and economics. This resource includes entries that are historical, comparative, topical, thematic, and methodological. It also presents European, Latin American, Asian, African, and Australasian developments and examines how and why legal systems grow and change, how and why they respond to their environment. (online)

International Encyclopedia of Civil Society: This online encyclopedia provides summaries of concepts and theories, definitions of terms, biographical entries, and organizational profiles.  It will also serve as a guide to sources of information on  social capital, philanthropy and nonprofits in different parts of the world, and across cultures and historical periods. (online)

Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History: This online encyclopedia traces the history of political institutions, parties, and founding documents. It explains and analyses ideas, philosophies, and movements that have shaped American politics. Furthermore, it presents the political history and influence of geographic regions and how the roles of ethnic, racial, and religious groups shape the political process. It also examines recurring issues that shape political campaigns and policy, from class, gender, and race to crime, education, taxation, voting, welfare, and much more. (online)

Encyclopedias for Political Science

Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right: This online reference resource contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left in the left-hand volume (Volume 1), and those considered on the right in the right-hand volume (Volume 2). Key Themes include: Countries/Regions, “Isms”, Laws, Political Issues. Political Movements, Political Parties, and People. (online) 

Encyclopedia of Political Theory: This online encyclopedia examines the global landscape of all key political theories and the theorists, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses. It also provides concise, to-the-point definitions of key concepts, ideas, schools, and figures. Coverage includes: Ancient Theory, Medieval Theory, Early Modern Theory, Enlightenment, Modern Theory, Constitutionalism, Liberalism, Critical Theory, Continental Theory, Empirical Theory, Comparative Political Thought, and many others. (online)

International Encyclopedia of Political Science: This online encyclopedia provides a comprehensive picture of all aspects of political life, recognizing the theoretical and cultural pluralism of approaches and including findings from international perspectives. This resource covers every field of politics, from political theory and methodology to political sociology, comparative politics, public policies, and international relations. (online)

Get Books

Why Use Books?

  • Books are extremely valuable resources when doing in-depth research on a topic! Authors have hundreds of pages to give detailed explanations and background information surrounding the various facets of your research interest.
  • Using this kind of in-depth information will make it easier to form a research question or thesis statement (or even spark your inspiration)
  • The bibliographies found in books are extensive, and will point you to other resources to add to your own resource list.
  • Remember: scholars write journal articles under the assumption that you already have a relatively thorough understanding of the topic – this means that you will likely not find the foundational information needed for your topic in the beginning stages of your research process. In this sense, books become indispensable

Getting Books

Our Library Catalogue is the essential tool for finding Laurentian's books or e-books. You can also use the catalogue to search for journals and government publications. For students at Laurentian@Barrie, remember to check the Georgian College Catalogue for print books. 

You can search the catalogue by:

• Keyword

• Title

• Author/Editor

• Series

• Subject

• Journal Title

• Call number

Note: Not all e-books are catalogued in our catalogue. We encourage you to search the sources below to access more e-books in the collection 

• Scholars Portal Ebooks (over 250,000 ebooks in multiple subject areas. Select Full Text Onlyto find only those ebooks with full text)

• Ebrary (close to 40,000 ebooks in multiple subject areas)

WorldCat

With nearly 200 million records representing titles held by nearly 75,000 libraries you will find almost any book ever published in the English language in WorldCat.
Search Tips:  Once you log-in, click on the Help Button: Help button
After your search, when you see a title that interests you, click on it and within the record you will see an image for "Get it @ Laurentian" :
   Get it @ Laurentian
When you click on that, you will be led to a menu which allows you to check for availability in Laurentian’s catalogue or order the item through ILL - Interlibrary Loan.
Note: While a free version of WorldCat is available online, we recommend that you use the university's subscription version of WorldCat because it offers the "Get it @ Laurentian" feature and more powerful search functionality.

Resources

Multidisciplinary resources

  • Academic OneFile ?

    Description: More than 14,000 titles, including more than 9,000 peer-reviewed journals and more than 6,000 in full text. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects since 1980.

  • Canadian Business & Current Affairs™ (CBCA) Complete ?

    Description: More than 4.5 million records from 1,730 titles covering current events, business, education, science, the arts, and academic information as produced in Canada. The database also includes a few Canadian legal journals that are in neither Hein Online nor Lexis-Nexis, also full-text.

  • Lexis-Nexis Academic ?

    Description: Lexis-Nexis Academic is a rich source of news, business and legal information.

  • Scholars Portal - Ejournals ?

    Description: Scholars Portal is a digital repository of over 20 million scholarly articles drawn from journals covering every academic discipline.

  • ProQuest Dissertations and Theses ?

    Description: This database includes 2.7 million searchable citations to doctoral dissertation and Master's theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Full text has been added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Those not available full-text may be ordered privately; they are not normally available through interlibrary loan.

  • WorldCat ?

    Description: The world's largest database of library collections in North America and abroad, including Laurentian's.

Core Resources

  • Annual Review of Political Science ?

    Description: "Covers significant developments in the field of Political Science including political theory and philosophy, international relations, political economy, political behavior, American and comparative politics, public administration and policy, and methodology" since 1998 - Publisher's website.

  • PAIS International ?

    Description: Covers public and social policy and the social sciences in general. Indexes journal articles, books, government documents (with emphasis on Canada, the U.S., and the United Nations), statistical compilations, committee reports, and directories. Includes: PAISArchive 1915-1976 & PAIS International from 1972 to the present.

  • ProQuest Political Science ?

    Description: Covers political science and international relations, including topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy, since 1985. Includes PAIS and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, as well as dissertations and working papers of the Political Science Research Network.

  • Women in Politics Bibliographic Database ?

    Description: International coverage of women in politics since 1948. Created and maintained by the Inter-Parliamentary Union.

  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts ?

    Description: Cette base de données donne accès aux références et abrégés provenants de revues internationales en science politique et ses domaines complémentaires tels que relations internationales, politique publique, administration publique et droit. (Avec nos remerciements à la Bibliothèque de l’Université d’Ottawa pour le texte en français)

Style Guides

Citation Manuals

Properly citing your sources is an extremely valuable and necessary skill when completing your research. Below are a few resources to help you correctly format your bibliography according to your professor's preference.

Cite right: A quick guide to citation styles -- MLA, APA, Chicago, the sciences, professions, and more. 2011. Print.

The Purdue Online Writing Lab remains a standard for students in completing bibliographies

Tracking Your Research

Zotero is a free, web-based citation manager that allows you to: 

  • Directly import references from article databases, the library catalogue, e-book collections, etc.
  • Manage and organize your references.
  • Create a bibliography.
  • Share your references with others
  • Add in-text citation and a bibliography directly into your assignment 

Getting started with Zotero:

English