Interlibrary Loans (RACER)


Welcome

Getting Books and Articles from Other Libraries

Welcome to RACER, our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) system, which brings a wealth of scholarship to your research doorstep!

Copyright ©

Under the terms of the ACCESS COPYRIGHT and the COPYRIGHT ACT R.S.C. c. C-42 as amended, Interlibrary Loans cannot order copies of more than 10% of a published work, 5% if it is to be e-delivered, or one journal article per issue.

RACER tracks borrowing patterns-if there are more than 5 requests for the same article within a 3 month period, Laurentian University will attempt to purchase a copy from the source.

To receive any article you must agree that the document is to be used solely for the purposes of research, private study, review or criticism. You are required to print a copy of the article and destroy the electronic version. The electronic version may not be stored, forwarded or distributed. Failure to abide by this policy may result in your rights to use the electronic delivery program (EDP) being suspended or revoked and you may be subject to liability for copyright infringement.

Sign-In

Only current and retired Laurentian University faculty and staff, or registered students may order articles and books from other libraries.

Please note, RACER is NOT to be used for a practice exercise.

First-time Users

Register with the online registration form. This is a one-time registration. You will receive an email confirming the creation of your account.

Once you receive your confirmation, connect to RACER.

Login using your information as selected during registration:

  • Login: Your Laurentian ID (ex.mg_thomson or dgiroux)
  • Password: Chosen at registration
  • Library: Laurentian

Getting Started

Important

Be sure to check the catalogue, and Google to make sure the desired material is not available in our own collection or online. Books on loan from the J.N. Desmarais Library, the Huntington University Library, the University of Sudbury Library, or at the Northern Ontario Health Information Network (Nohin) - Northern Ontario School of Medicine (NOSM) collections are considered available, and cannot be ordered through RACER. Place a hold to reserve the copy. For information on how to place a hold, click here.

Once you have determined the material is not available, login to RACER and submit a request.

Submitting a Request

If you have the complete bibliographic record for a desired item, simply login into RACER and fill out a Blank Request Form.

In order to obtain your document, your responsibility is to provide the following *required fields:

  • a book has 3 required fields: title, author, publication date
  • an article has 7: journal title, article author, article title, pagination, volume, issue/number, publication date

Interlibrary loan staff will do the rest and will find possible lending locations on your behalf.

While searching certain library databases, requests can be submitted using the database feature  to auto-populate a request form. Auto-populated forms often lack information, therefore you must ensure all *required fields are filled out correctly or your request may be cancelled.

What can't I order?

Library materials may not be ordered more than once.

RACER may not be used to order required texts for courses. Please visit the university Bookstore.

No more than 15 books may be borrowed at any one time.

Normally excluded from this service: periodical volumes or issues (ie. journals), reference works, rare books, audio-visual materials. For information on how to order films or videos, click here.

When can I expect to receive my documents?

Articles are typically available within 10 days.

Books and microforms are typically available within 3 weeks. Books borrowed from libraries outside Canada may take in excess of 2 months to become available.

Delivery

Articles will normally be delivered to your email address only, unless printed copies have been received which will have to be picked up at the Circulation desk.

Books and other documents must be picked up at the Circulation Desk by the original requester.  No exceptions and no renewals.

Loan Period

 

  • Articles: You are required to print a copy of the article and destroy the electronic version. You may retain 1 print copy.
  • Books / Microforms: The loan period is 3 weeks with no renewals.

Recall

The lending library may recall books at any time. Upon receipt of a recall notice, you have 24 hours to return the requested material to the J.N. Desmarais Library.

Failure to return the recalled material will result in a fine that will be levied against your J.N. Desmarais Library record at $1 a day with no caps. You will also be banned from using RACER.

If you are still in need of the material that has been recalled, the interlibrary loan staff will, upon your request, gladly re-order the same material from another institution providing there is one.

Cost

Generally, there are no charges for books or articles. However, charges apply to the following:

  • Items from Canadian institutions: library will cover $12; patron any extra
  • Items from outside of Canada: library will cover $30; patron any extra

Patrons will be notified before their request is processed if these charges apply, so that they can accept the charges or cancel their request.  Please pay upon receipt of material.

Information

For more information, please contact: Mr. Ashley Thomson, Interlibrary Loan Coordinator, extension 3322.

Item not picked up

There will be a $5 service fee levied against borrowers who do not pick up books or articles they have ordered within three weeks after they have been notified. This charge will apply to each item that has been ordered.

This charge will be waived if these are picked up within three weeks after a user has been notified.

Lost material

Loss of documents must be reported immediately.

Lost material will be billed to the user according to the invoice received from the lending library, minimum replacement cost of $100, and the user will also owe any overdue fees that have accumulated, until the item has been returned or claimed as lost.

Late fee

All material borrowed from other libraries must be returned within 3 weeks after its arrival at Laurentian. Borrowers will be charged $1 per day for any material which is overdue and there will be no cap.

Bookband removal

Removal of bookbands will result in a $5 surcharge.

Payment

You may pay any charges at the Circulation Desk, but until you do, you will be banned from using your RACER account.

After payment of fines, you must also email RACER@laurentian.ca to have your borrowing privileges reinstated. You must send this email or the ban will continue.

Changing Your Password

You can change your password as long as you can access your account. 

  • Login to your own account.
  • Under 'My Account' on the left side click on 'Account Details'
  • Click on 'Edit'
  • Make the changes
  • Tick 'Update Password'
  • Update

If you have forgotten your password, please contact RACER staff to reset the password.

Notifications

How will I know when my item has arrived?

The library will contact you when your item is available for pickup. We will also notify you if we are unable to fill your request.

The average time to fill an interlibrary loan is 2-3 weeks, however response times vary from library to library. Articles are typically available within 10 days. Books and microforms are typically available within 3 weeks. Books borrowed from libraries outside Canada may take in excess of 2 months to become available.

All messaging to users is done via racer@laurentian.ca. Make sure to check your email on a daily basis.

Managing Your Requests

Tracking Your Requests

Login to RACER, and click 'My Requests'. A list of all of your requests will appear. Please note the “Status” of your request.

If you would like to inquire about a specific request, email racer@laurentian.ca and provide the ILL Number.

If an item is no longer listed, check your email for notification about your request.

Status Messages

The Status of a request defines its current position in the request lifecycle.

Cancel Pending - We are in the process of canceling your request.

Checked In - The lending library has the item back in their possession.

Conditional - A lending library has indicated they will supply your item as soon as some condition is met

Idle - We will process your request shortly

New - A recently submitted request.

Not Supplied - Local library staff are searching other libraries for your item and may contact you if needed.

Pending – Your request has been sent to a lending library but have not yet been shipped or rejected.

Recalled – Requests on loan to your library which have been recalled by the lending library - these should be returned as soon as possible.

Received – Your item has arrived at the J.N. Desmarais Library and will be available shortly. Check your email for further details.

Returned – Requests which are being sent back to the lending library.

Shipped – The lending library has sent a notification that the item has been shipped.

Canceling a Request

To cancel a request, login to RACER and click “My Requests”. Click the button located next to each request you no longer require. If you prefer, you can email racer@laurentian.ca the ILL numbers you wish to cancel.

My Requests

Distance Education Students

What can I borrow?

Any library material that is not available to you electronically, can be ordered through RACER, whether the material is located in Laurentian's own collections - or elsewhere.

Important

Check the catalogue to make sure the desired material is not available online as either an e-book or electronic journal article. For information on how to access our online resources, click here.

In addition to searching our catalogue, WorldCat is an excellent resource for finding books on a topic.

When searching for articles on a specific topic, please consult your subject databases.

Loan Period

When borrowing books from Laurentian's collections, you will have them for a period of 3 weeks. The due date will be stamped on the bookband wrapped around the cover of the book, and this date allows one week for shipping. Please ensure that the material is back at Laurentian by the due date which means you must ship the material at least one week before it is due. It is important to make note of the due date as overdue fines are applicable at $0.50 per day. A book, if not requested by another borrower, can be renewed up to 3 times. For information on how to renew, click here.

When borrowing materials outside of Laurentian's collections, the loan period is 3 weeks with no renewals and no re-orders. Borrowers will be charged $1 per day for any material which is overdue.

No more than 30 books may be borrowed at any one time.

Registering for a RACER account

Please register for RACER by completing the online registration form. For the "Choose your location" field select "Home Delivery - for Distance Education students only".

Home Delivery

Articles will be delivered to your email address only. Library materials will be shipped to the address you registered with for a RACER account. If you move, please be sure to update your RACER account details.

A postage paid shipping label will be provided in your package, taped to the front of the book. When finished with your library material, return the books to the J.N. Desmarais Library taping the postage paid shipping label onto the original envelope sent to you.

Library Fines

If you have incurred any library fines you will be banned from using RACER.

You may pay by cheque, money order, or credit card. Cheques and money orders can be made out to Laurentian University and sent to:

Attention: Circulation

J.N. Desmarais Library

935 Ramsey Lake Road

Sudbury ON P3E 2C6                                  

Credit card payments can be made by telephone. Please call the Circulation Department at 1-800-661-1058, extension 4 or 705-675-4800 to pay with VISA or Mastercard.

After payment of fines, you must also email RACER@laurentian.ca to have your borrowing privileges reinstated. You must send this email or the ban will continue.

Loans to Other Libraries

This information is for libraries or institutions that borrow directly from the Laurentian University J.N. Desmarais Library. Individuals should contact their local library to request materials from other libraries.

For instructions and online Interlibrary Loan request forms for libraries without an ILL management system, please visit this link

In order to use this form you must have either a Library and Archives Canada symbol or a locally created symbol in our VDX system.  For the Symbols and Interlibrary Loan Policies in Canada directory, please visit this link.  For Laurentian University J.N. Desmarais Library symbol and policies, please visit this link.

If you need further assistance, please contact racer.support@utoronto.ca.

ILL Charges for International Requests

Without a reciprocal borrowing agreement, the J.N. Desmarais Library charges for international document delivery are:

  • Articles: $20 or 1.5 IFLA vouchers
  • Books/microfiche: $45 or 3.5 IFLA vouchers

If you wish arrange a reciprocal borrowing agreement, please contact raceradm@laurentian.ca.
 

Contact Us

For general inquiries, please email racer@laurentian.ca.

If you would like to talk to someone personally about RACER, please visit Dorothy Robb at either the Library Information Desk or in the Interlibrary Loan Office.

For more information, please contact Mr. Ashley Thomson, Interlibrary Loan Coordinator, at extension 3322.

Dorothy Robb, Library Assistant

Interlibrary Loans & Distance Education

 

Telephone: 705-675-1151 or 1-800-461-4030, extension 3318

Email: drobb@laurentian.ca

ILL Office: J.N. Desmarais Library, 30-244

Ashley Thomson, Librarian

Interlibrary Loans Coordinator

Telephone: 705-675-1151 or 1-800-461-4030, extension 3322

Email: athomson@laurentian.ca

Office: J.N. Desmarais Library, 30-245