You are here

Archives

We would like to acknowledge that the J.N. Desmarais Library & Archives are located on the traditional territory of the Atikameksheng Anishnaabek, which is within the Robinson-Huron Treaty territory.

Located on the first floor of the J.N. Desmarais Library, the Archive Repository houses the holdings of archival fonds of organizations and individuals from the Northern Ontario community as well as seven different special collections: the Faculty Collection, Fourth Year Honour’s Essay, Graduate Theses, the Rare Books Collection, the Regional collection, Reference sources, and Vertical files (from Mining & Environment database). 

All collections are accessible to everybody but all have to be consulted in the Angus Gilbert Reading Room, in the Archives. The Angus Gilbert Reading Room can accommodate forty (40) researchers.

 

Hours of operation*

Monday CLOSED
Tuesday 9:30am - 12pm; 1pm - 4:30pm
Wednesday 9:30am - 12pm; 1pm - 4:30pm
Thursday 9:30am - 12pm; 1pm - 4:30pm
Friday 9:30am - 12pm; 1pm - 4:30pm
Saturday CLOSED
Sunday

CLOSED

 

* Archives hours may be subject to change

 

 

Archives Reading Room

Policies & Procedures

Laurentian University archives are accessible to all. We do require that you make an appointment if you wish to access archival fonds which are housed in the archives.

Archival fonds and the special collections housed in the archives, cannot be borrowed through Inter-Library Loan services or taken out of the Angus Gilbert Reading Room. Only in-house consultation is authorised.

Archives staff will provide assistance with research services, however we are unable to commit to more than three hours of our time for such research. As an alternative, there are Laurentian University students that can, for an hourly fee,  assist in this regard.

If you cannot come to the archives to do your research, we can provide you with names of Laurentian University students who, for an hourly fee, could do the research for you. Although we provide you with names of LU students, it is your responsibility to negotiate the agreement with the student. LU archives is not responsible for the research done by the students.

Note:

  • You will be charged for postage, when applicable.
  • There is no transmission of documents by fax.
  • There is no transmission of documents by email.

Procedures and Costs for the Scanning of Photographs (PDF)
Procedures and policies for photocopies of archival documents (PDF)
Use of a Camera by Researchers in the Archives
Rules and Registration Form (PDF)
Floor Plan in pdf format

Archival Fonds

Presented in this document are some of the private archival collections and fonds of the holdings of Laurentian University Archives. These fonds and archival collections are arranged by broad subjects or major themes. Furthermore, the subject or theme does not represent an exhaustive analysis of what topic areas are in each fonds and the list does not include all fonds or archival collection of the holdings.

The groupings are in alphabetical order.

In accordance to our policy on processing of archival materials, and in compliance to the Rules for Archival Description (R.A.D.) the archival fonds are described in the language of the producer. Occasionally the description can be in the language of the documents instead of the producer.

 

Marthe Brown
Archivist

DEFINITIONS

Archives is: recorded information, regardless of date, form or medium and of continuing value.

A fonds is: The whole of the records, regardless of date, form or medium, created, received used and automatically accumulated by an individual or corporate body in the course, or in the performance of their activities or functions, constituing the integral, organic and recorded information of the body or the individual.

A collection is: An artificial accumulation of documents of any provenance brought together on the basis of some common characteristic, e.g., way of acquisition, subject, language, medium, type of document, name of collector, to be treated for description purposes as a descriptive unit under a common title. Collectors may be those outside the archives who assembled the material, or may in some cases be an archival repository itself.

 

How to read the fonds-level description

 

Accession number P090-
 
Title of fonds 
(Name of producer of the records)
District Court of Manitoulin Records fonds
 
Dates of creation of the material 1888-1915
 
Length & nature of materials 1m 20cm of textual records
 
Presentation of the producer Administrative history: The District Court of Manitoulin located in Gore Bay, Ontario was the public administrative office where chattel mortgages and chattel mortgage renewals were filed between 1888 and 1915.
 
Description of the material Scope and content: This fonds consists of chattel mortgages and chattel mortgage renewals filed at Manitoulin District Court from 1888 to 1915. The records provide information on what moveable property was held as collateral security.
 
History of the material Custodial history: The fonds was donated by Dr. W.R. Wightman from the University of Western Ontario, Department of Geography. It was received in one accrual on October 26, 1992. Dr. Wightman obtained these documents as part of a research project that is now completed.

 International

P137 Fonds Tiphaine Dickson
P146 Joseph Herman Molohon fonds

 

Northern Ontario

1. Arts, culture and communications media

1.1 Arts & culture

P016 Fonds Éditions Prise de Parole
P023 Fonds Théâtre du Nouvel Ontario
P033 Fonds Galerie du Nouvel Ontario
P036 Fonds Jocelyne Villeneuve
P084 Sudbury Operatic Society fonds/ Société d'opérette de Sudbury
P114 Margaret (Peg) and Dennis Roberts fonds
P124 Fonds André Paiement
P126 Fonds Lucien Pelletier
P127 Fonds Robert Dickson
P133 Fonds de la Fondation André Paiement
P138 Fonds La Ruche des Artistes Inc.
P149 Florence Isabella Craig-Yeigh Fonds
P183 Fonds Albert Régimbal
P186 Highway Bookshop Fonds

 

1.2 Newspapers & publications

P010 Fonds de la revue Réaction
P034 Canadian Mining Journal fonds
P050 Arachnee fonds
P100 Fonds Le Communicautaire (Nouvel Ontarien)
P110 Fonds La coopérative du livre de Sudbury

 

1.3 Radio stations

P082 CBCS fonds

 

2. Clubs & social organizations

2.1 General

P049 Sudbury and District Historical Society fonds
P085 University Women's Club of Sudbury fonds
P089 YMCA, John Island Camp fonds
P139 Fonds de la Société Historique du Nipissing
P142 Fonds l'Amicale des mycologues de Sudbury
P147 Fonds Carrefour francophone de Sudbury

 

2.2 Health Services

P093 Fonds des Auxiliaires bénévoles
HRSRH/HRSRH Auxiliary/volunteer
P148 The Sudbury History of Nursing Group fonds

 

2.3 Social assistance

P018 Soroptimist Club fonds
P031 IODE, Elisabeth Frye Chapter fonds
P055 Housing Resource Centre fonds
P066 Sudbury and District Ministerial Association fonds
P118 LEAF Sudbury Branch, fonds
P128 Fonds Handicap-4 de Vallée-Est.

 

3. Economy

P013 Canadian Association of Single Industry Town (CASIT)fonds
P090 District Court of Manitoulin Records fonds
P094 David Leadbeater fonds
P097 Monica Neitzert fonds
P107 Lloyd Wagner fonds

 

4. Education

P041 Fonds Roger St. Louis
P083 Fonds Liliane (Gauthier) Beauchamp
P092 Fonds Jean-Louis Bourdeau
P101 Fonds de L'Association franco-ontarienne des conseils d'écoles catholiques
P111 Ernie Checkeris fonds
P112 Roman Catholic School Board fonds [Sudbury Region]
P115 Fonds du conseil des écoles séparées catholiques romaines du District de Sudbury
P117 Fonds du Conseil scolaire de district catholique du Nouvel Ontario

 

4.1 Laurentian University

P008 Fonds de l'Association des étudiantes et étudiants francophones (AEF)
P077 Harold Benett fonds
P109 Huntington University fonds
P134 Fonds de l'Association francophone pour le savoir-Sudbury (ACFAS)
P143 Fonds Guy Gaudreau
P210 Joan Mount Fonds
P213 INORD fonds

 

5. Labour

P002 Cleve Kidd fonds
P003 Brian Hogan fonds
P009 N.O.L.I.A. fonds
P015 Brotherhood of Railway Carmen fonds
P019
(previously RG 11)
Mike Solski fonds
P020 IUSWA /District 6 (Timmins) fonds
P021*
(previously RG 33)
Ontario Secondary School Teachers Federation fonds
P024 USWA. Local 5417, Elliot Lake fonds
P026 International Union of Mine, Mill and Smelter workers (IUMMSW) fonds
P030 Victims of Mining Environment (VOME) fonds
P035 Nelson Thibault fonds
P037 Roger Leblanc fonds
P038 International USWA/District 6(Sudbury) fonds
P040 Homer Seguin (USWA) fonds
P046 Elmer McVey Fonds
P047 Barbara Dunphy fonds
P048 Gilbert H. (Gib) Gilchrist fonds
P051
(previously RG 001)
James L. Kidd fonds
P052
(previously RG 002)
Gordon Hurley fonds
P053
(previously RG 003)
Alfred Fraser fonds
P054
(previously RG 004)
Norman Stephen fonds
P056
(previously RG 006)
Jack. L. Giroux fonds
P057
(previously RG 007)
Robert H. Carlin fonds
P058
(previously RG 008)
Frank Southern fonds
P059
(previously RG 009)
Jim Tester fonds
P060 Dorothy Wigmore fonds
P062
previously RG 012)
Tom Hannaway fonds
P063
previously RG 013)
Laurentian University Faculty Association (L.U.F.A.) fonds/ Fonds de L'Association des professeurs de l'Université Laurentienne (A.P.U.L.)
P064 Mike Farrell fonds
P065
(previously RG 015)
Roy Scranton fonds
P068
(previously RG 018)
Anne Morrison Collection
P069
(previously RG 19)
Dan Sweezy fonds
P070
(previously RG 20)
George Prusila fonds
P071
(previously RG 21)
Victor Baumruck fonds
P074
(previously RG 24)
IBEW fonds
P075
(previously RG 25)
Alan Senter fonds
P076
(previously RG 26)
Louis Brema fonds
P080
(previously RG 30)
Bricklayers and Allied Craftmen fonds
P081
(previously RG 31)
Paul Hatala fonds
P095 Laurentian University Staff Union fonds
P099 Canadian Union of Professional Employees, Local 1555 (CUPE) fonds
P102 David Letho and George Prusila collection
P105 Gowganda Miners Union fonds
P120 United Copper Nickel Workers fonds
P130 USWA Local 4440 fonds
P140 Robin and Archibald McArthur fonds
P150 Kerr Addison Mine Employees' Association
P151 USWA Local 4458- Timmins fonds
P152 USWA Local 4461- Timmins fonds
P153 USWA Local 4462- Timmins fonds
P154 USWA Local 4857- Timmins fonds
P155 USWA Local 6779- Timmins fonds
P156 USWA Local 7056- Timmins fonds
P157 USWA Local 7243- Timmins fonds
P158 USWA Local 7267- Timmins fonds
P159 USWA Local 8091- Timmins fonds
P160 USWA Local 9171- Timmins fonds
P161 USWA Local 13911- Timmins fonds
P162 USWA Local 4305- Timmins fonds
P163 USWA Local 7580- South Porcupine fonds
P164 USWA Local 4438- South Porcupine fonds
P165 USWA Local 9283- Kirkland Lake fonds
P166 USWA Local 4639- Kirkland Lake fonds
P167 USWA Local 7308- Kirkland Lake fonds
P168 USWA Local 7964- Kirkland Lake fonds
P169 USWA Local 6409 - Kirkland Lakefonds
P170 USWA Local 4354- Kirkland Lake fonds
P171 USWA Local 4584- Kirkland Lake fonds
P172 USWA Local 951- Cobalt fonds
P173 USWA Local 4374- Cobalt fonds
P174 USWA Local 4423- Cobalt fonds
P175 USWA Local 5138- Cobalt fonds
P176 USWA Local 6217- Cobalt fonds
P177 USWA Local 6270- Cobalt fonds
P178 USWa Local 4501- Cobalt fonds
P179 USWA Local 6896- Kirkland Lake fonds
P180 USWA Local 5506- Cobalt fonds
P181 USWA Local 4866- Cobalt fonds
P182 USWA Local 6258- Cobalt fonds
P191 Provincial Mine Workers of Ontario fonds
P192 Fonds Jean Gagnon

 

6. Mining industries and related activities (see also Labour Relations)

P007 Denison Mines fonds
P078 Falconbridge fonds
P079 McIntyre Mines fonds
P096 Zepha Trevorrow fonds
P121 Charles Kenneth Leith fonds
P141 William Ernest Hale fonds
P208 Leslie M. Sheridan fonds

 

7. Politics & Politicians

P005 Elmer Sopha fonds
P006 Floyd Laughren fonds
P011 Graeme Mount collection
P017 Grace Hartman Mead fonds
P028 Walford-Nepawhin Ratepayers Association fonds
P029 Barbara Hanley fonds
P043 William S. (Bill) Beaton fonds
P061 Fonds Jean Étienne (Stephen) Fournier
P108 Socialist Party of Canada, Local 33 fonds
P190 Adrienne and Ricardo de la Riva fonds

 

7.1 Militancy

P001 Dorothy Zaborszki fonds
P027 Joan Kuyeck fonds
P073(previously RG 23) Mick Lowe fonds
P113 Jennifer Keck fonds
P144 Fonds Mercedes Steedman

 

8. Population & socio-ethnic groups

8.1 Socio-ethnic groups/ groupes socio-ethniques

P004 Finnish National Society of Sudbury fonds
P022 Gertrud Jaron Lewis collection
P039 Fonds de l'Association canadienne-française d'Ontario du grand Sudbury (ACFO)
P104 Federation of the ethnic groups of Sudbury fonds
P119 Abdul Zia fonds
P123 Oiva W. Saarinen fonds

 

8.2 Early settlements (population)

P012 Sandra Slater collection
P014 Underwriter's Survey Bureau fonds
P042 Robert Boudignon fonds
P045 Charles Ferguson fonds
P088 Buchanan Family fonds
P090 District Court of Manitoulin Records fonds
P091 Rose and Nick Perkovich fonds
P103 Catharine Dixon fonds
P106 Marguerite (Buell) Blakely fonds
P116 Town of Copper Cliff, collection
P145 Fonds Joseph Alphonse Lévesque
P188 Gerald Goltz Collection
P189 Kunkel Family Collection
P195 V Ireton fonds
P196 Élorie Trottier fonds
P206 Robert S. (Bob) Atkinson Collection

 

9. Religious Communities

   
P032 Anglican Diocese of Moosonee fonds
P086 Fonds Paroisse St. Eugène
P087 Fonds Paroisse St. Casimir Parish (Catholique)
P125 Fonds des Soeurs de l'Assomption de la Sainte Vierge, (Ontario)

 

9.1 Missionaries

P205 William G (Reindeer) Walton fonds
P212 James Scanlon fonds

 

10.1 Land-use Planning

P122 Sudbury Mining Heritage Committee inc. fonds
P132 Sudbury Planning Board/ Junction Creek fonds
P204 William O. Mackasey fonds

Contact Us

By mail

Archives
Laurentian University
935 Ramsey Lake Road
Sudbury, ON, Canada
P3E 2C6

By email

archives@laurentian.ca

By fax

(705) 675-4877

By telephone

Archives Reception: (705) 675-1151 Extension 3306
Archivist, Marthe Brown: (705) 675-1151 Extension 3339

In person

The Laurentian University Archives are located on the first floor of the J.N. Desmarais Library at the Laurentian University campus on Ramsey Lake Road in Sudbury, Ontario.  We are situated in the heart of the Laurentian University campus just minutes away from one of Sudbury’s main arteries, Paris Street.

Those making their way by car will find several parking lots on campus. Those flying into the Greater Sudbury Airport will want to arrange for a shuttle or taxi.

Find us on Google Maps

Directions By Car

campus map

From Highway 69 North (from Toronto)

  1. Take Highway 69 North to Sudbury, which becomes Regent Street
  2. Turn right onto Paris Street at the Paris and Regent intersection.
  3. Turn right on Ramsey Lake Road (where Science North is located).
  4. Turn right on University Road.

From Highway 17 East (from Ottawa)

  1. Take Highway 17 West towards North Bay and Sudbury.
  2. In Sudbury, take the “Kingsway,” which becomes Brady Street.
  3. Turn left on Paris Street
  4. Turn left on Ramsey Lake Road (where Science North is located).
  5. Turn right onto University Road

From Highway 17 West (From Sault Ste. Marie)

  1. Take Highway 17 East to Sudbury
  2. Exit at Long Lake Road
  3. Turn right at exit onto Regional Road 80 North
  4. Continue onto Regional Road 80 North, which becomes Paris Street
  5. Turn right on Ramsey Lake Road (where Science North is located).
  6. Turn right on University Road

From Highway 144 South (from Timmins)

  1. Take 144 South towards Sudbury
  2. Take the Big Nickel Road ramp
  3. Continue onto Regional Road 55 east which turns into Lorne Street.
  4. Turn right on Douglas Street which turns into Brady Street.
  5. Turn right on Paris Street
  6. Turn left on Ramsey Lake Road (where Science North is located)
  7. Turn right on University Road

FAQ