You are here

Getting Started

What services do we provide?

The Laurentian University Libraries will provide you with supplementary readings and books and/or articles on the subjects you are researching for your off-campus courses. The University's Online Catalogue as well as a series of Online Journal Indexes and Abstracts have been made available for searching. Please feel free to browse through our collection.

You are also encouraged to pursue information resources in your local community to complement the Library's materials.

Are you eligible to receive these services?

You must live 50 kilometres or more from Sudbury or

You are a student on placement in your program (e.g. midwifery) and your placement is 50 kilometres or more from Sudbury. 

You must be presently enrolled in a Laurentian University course offered through Laurentian Online and the Sudbury Campus.

or

You are registered in a course given by Huntington University, Thorneloe University, or the University of Sudbury.

NOTE: Off-Campus Library Services are not provided for on-campus courses, regardless of the distance you live from Sudbury.

Getting Books & Articles

If you wish to obtain books or articles from Laurentian's print collection or from other libraries, you will use our interlibrary loan system called RACER.

Be sure to check the catalogue first before you place a RACER request to determine whether the material you require is available to you electronically.

 

Textbooks

Check online at university Bookstore for current listings of required and/or suggested texts for your course. You may purchase your texts online through the Bookstore

To contact the university bookstore call 1-800-461-4030 or 705-675-1151, extension 2600 or 2602, or email laurentian@bkstr.com.

Accessing Electronic Resources

LU Proxy Accounts

Even off campus, you have access to all of Laurentian's electronic resources (e-journals, e-books, databases, statistical information & more) through Laurentian University's proxy access. 

What is a proxy?

A proxy is a special login and password that allows you to authenticate yourself as an LU student, regardless of your physical location.

What is my proxy?

The username and password used for the proxy are identical to those you use to access your LUmail, D2L and WebAdvisor

Password: To update your password, please visit passwordreset.laurentian.ca

If you have access problems, please contact the Tech Hub Services Desk through email at IT@laurentian.ca, by phone at 1-800-461-4030 ext 2200 or in person in the Tech Hub in the Arts Building in room A-100.

Your RACER Account

What can I borrow?

Any library material that is not available to you electronically, can be ordered through RACER, whether the material is located in Laurentian's own collections - or elsewhere.

Note: Laurentian is unable to supply any loaned materials from other libraries to students residing outside North America.

Registering for a RACER account

Please register for RACER by completing the online registration form.

For the "Choose your location" field select "Home Delivery - for Distance Education students only."

For Laurentian students and faculty members at the Barrie campus (Georgian College), choose "Laurentian @ Barrie - Georgian Library Commons" as your location.

Important

Check the catalogue to make sure the desired material is not available online as either an e-book or electronic journal article or access our online resources.

In addition to searching our catalogue, WorldCat is an excellent resource for finding books on a topic.

When searching for articles on a specific topic, please consult your subject databases.

Unable to access your account?

If you have incurred any library fines you will be temporarily suspended from using RACER.

For information on how to pay library fines click on Your LU Library account information tab.

After payment of fines, you must also email RACER@laurentian.ca to have your borrowing privileges reinstated. You must send this email or the suspension will continue.

Home Delivery

Articles will be delivered to your Laurentian email address only. Library materials will be shipped to the address you registered with for a RACER account. If you move, please be sure to update your RACER account details.

A postage paid shipping label will be provided in your package, taped to the front of the book. When finished with your library material, return the books to the J.N. Desmarais Library taping the postage paid shipping label onto the original envelope sent to you.

For Laurentian students and faculty members at the Barrie campus (Georgian College): library materials will be shipped to Georgian College - Library Commons, Barrie Campus. Georgian Library staff will notify you when your item is available for pick up.

Loan Period

When borrowing books from Laurentian's collections, undergraduates have a 3-week loan which may be renewed 3 times; graduate students are allowed 120 days with 1 renewal. You are responsible for renewing your own books.

All books are subject to recall after 3 weeks of use.

The original due date is indicated on the book band wrapped around the cover of the book, and this date allows 1 week travel time each way. If you renew your book, please adjust the due date accordingly, on the book band.  Please ensure that the material is back at Laurentian by the due date which means you must ship the material at least one week before it is due. It is important to make note of the due date as overdue fines are applicable at $0.50 per day. 

When borrowing materials outside of Laurentian's collections, the loan period varies from between 3 and 6 weeks. These books are NOT renewable. Borrowers will be charged $1 per day for any material which is overdue.

No more than 30 books may be borrowed at any one time.

Inquiries

For more information, please refer to the Interlibrary Loan policies.

For general inquiries, please email racer@laurentian.ca.

 

Your LU Library Account

Checking Your Account

At any time, you can view your library account to see which books you have signed out, when they are due, whether you have any fines owing, etc.

Login to your library account through the catalogue to renew your books, to see which books you have out, to place holds, and to verify whether you have fines owing.

Your username and password are the same as your Groupwise and Desire2Learn account.

Loan Period

Undergraduate students may borrow Laurentian books for a period of 21 days to a maximum of 30 books.

Graduate students may borrow Laurentian books for a period of 120 days to a maximum of 50 books.

Placing a Hold

If a book is on loan to another reader you may reserve it for yourself by signing in to Your Account via the Library Catalogue. When the reserved item is returned to the Library you will be notified by email that it is available. The item will be kept on the "hold shelf" for 4 days. Please forward this email to racer@laurentian.ca so that Library staff can collect your book and ship it to you.

Renewing Books

All books from Laurentian's collection may be renewed up to 3 times, for a further 21 day loan period, unless requested by another borrower. A 120-day book may be renewed once.

Learn how to renew your Laurentian University library material.

Your username is your Laurentian username. If you do not know your password, click on "Forgot your password" link which is below the login screen.

If you have no remaining renewals on your library account and still require a book, please contact Off-Campus Library Services by phone (1-800-661-1058, extension 2) or by email.

Lost Books

Loss of documents must be reported immediately.

Materials not returned 28 days after the due date are presumed lost. The charge for lost Laurentian books is either $30 per item or the replacement cost of the item. There also is a $5 service charge. The loss of documents from other libraries will be governed by RACER policy.

The user will also owe any overdue fees that have accumulated, until the item has been returned or claimed as lost.

Library Fines

If you have incurred any library fines, you may pay by cheque, money order, or credit card.

Cheques and money orders can be made out to Laurentian University and sent to:

Attention: Access Services

J.N. Desmarais Library

935 Ramsey Lake Road

Sudbury ON P3E 2C6

Credit card payments can be made by telephone. Please call the Borrower Services at 1-800-661-1058, extension 4 or 705-675-4800 to pay with VISA or Mastercard.

 

Getting a Photo I.D. Card

How do I order a student I.D. card?

To request a student identification card, please email a recent digital photo of yourself to hub@laurentian.ca, complete the photo I.D. card formPDF and return via email or mail to: 

myLaurentian Hub

935 Ramsey Lake Road

Sudbury Ontario, P3E 2C6

Why should I get a student photo I.D. card?

To borrow books in person from a Laurentian University library or any other Canadian university library, a Laurentian student must present a student identification card. This card may also be used for photo identification purposes when writing exams.

A student card can also get you great discounts locally and nationally, as many services and shops will give students special offers and reductions. So don´t forget to use your student card and always ask what student offers are available; you are guaranteed to save some money!

Photo Guidelines

Your photo must be:

  • taken with uniform lighting and not show shadows, glare or flash reflections.
  • centered and taken straight on, with face and shoulders centered and squared to the camera.
  • clear, sharp and in focus
  • taken in front of a plain white or light-coloured background with a clear difference between your face and the background.
  • an original photo that is not digitally altered or taken from an existing photo
  • JPG file format

Updating Your Address

If you move, please login to your RACER account and update your mailing address before you request any new resources. In addition, please inform racer@laurentian.ca of your change of address. If you fail to communicate a change of address you will be held responsible for any print resources lost in the mail. To update your address:  

  • Login to your RACER account
  • Under 'My Account' on the left side click on 'Account Details
  • Click on 'Edit
  • Make the changes to your mailing address
  • Click on 'Save'

LU @ Barrie Students & Faculty

Library Services

Laurentian University @ Barrie students and faculty have access to a wide variety of library services and resources at both Georgian College and Laurentian University. 

Georgian provides information on how to obtain a photo ID, a library card, library resources and local research help.

Accessing Electronic Resources

Laurentian @ Barrie students and faculty have access to all of Laurentian's electronic resources (e-journals, e-books, databases, statistical information & more) by using their Laurentian University Consolidated ID (LUID). The LUID is necessary to access LU resources and services (WebAdvisor, LUmail, RACER) on Georgian’s campuses and off campus.

What is my LUID?

Your LUID user name & student number are included in your registration package with your LUmail and Web Advisor information. Laurentian’s Self Serve Password reset is at www2.laurentian.ca/accessLU/

If you have access problems, please contact the LU help desk:

phone: 1-800-461-4030  ext.2200

e-mail: IT@laurentian.ca

Getting Books & Articles

If you wish to obtain books or articles from Laurentian's print collection or from other libraries, you will use our interlibrary loan system called RACER.

Be sure to check the catalogue first before you place a RACER request to determine whether the material you require is available to you electronically.

Registering for a RACER account

Please register for RACER by completing the online registration form. For the "Choose your location" field select "Laurentian @ Barrie - Georgian Library Commons". 

Delivery

Articles will be delivered to your Laurentian email address only.

Library materials will be shipped to Georgian College - Library Commons, Barrie Campus. Georgian Library staff will notify you when your item is available for pick up.

Contact Us

You can inquire about Off-Campus Library Services by telephone, fax, mail, or email.

Telephone: 1-800-661-1058, extension 2

Email: distance_l@laurentian.ca

Fax: 705-671-3877

Mailing Address:

Off-Campus Library Services

J.N. Desmarais Library, Laurentian University

935 Ramsey Lake Road

​Sudbury Ontario, P3E 2C6

Ashley Thomson, Librarian

Distance Education Coordinator

Telephone: 705-675-1151 or 1-800-461-4030, extension 3322

Email: athomson@laurentian.ca

Office: J.N. Desmarais Library, 30-245

Ask the Library

 

Hours of Operation

Days Hours
Monday to Thursday 10am - 10pm
Friday 10am - 5pm
Saturday and Sunday 12pm - 6pm

This collaborative online research help service is staffed by Library personnel from various Ontario university libraries, including Laurentian. For more information, see About Ask the Library.